I like Harry Potter. Quite a bit. I have read all 7 books at least twice, a couple of them more. I’ve been to the Harry Potter studio tour and plan to go again. I have a necklace, a bracelet and a tshirt. Which I wore to a midnight book release party for the eighth book in the HP series and the first book on my list;

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J.K.Rowling

Now, I’m not a terribly fast reader as I get distracted easily. However after hearing that friends of mine had zoomed through this book, I was quite excited to see if I could too.

As the book is written for a play, it reads as a script with directions and scenes. I found it very easy to read and imagine how the characters looked and their actions with the minimal descriptions supplied.

Unlike the original books, this one swept through the first 4 years of Albus Potter’s school life within the first 50 pages. This sets the scene well to explain further what happens throughout the book thereafter. Although it always leaves me wondering.. What small adventures could the characters be having in all those unwritten chapters? Maybe this is something all those dedicated fan-fiction writers will be taking up.

I laughed (not loudly, though I think some of the comedy would be better served in the play it is intended for) and I may have even shed a tear or two.

The story itself had enough plot twists to keep me interested and unable to figure what might happen next.

I had heard mixed reviews, however I enjoyed this read, even if I would probably class it more of a short story than a full novel.

So all in all, another great book in the long line of the Harry Potter series!

My next task is;

A book that was made into a movie.

